Third Group Lesson

I missed Thursday again due to mom duty, so I skated during the Saturday practice time and group lesson.  I was excited that it only took one try for me to lace my skates correctly today!  I felt strong going into the practice session.  I started with stroking, crossovers, and three-turns to warm up.  I noticed that I was better at holding the ending edge of all of my three-turns.

I practiced my waltz jump, salchow and one-foot spin and took videos by propping my phone against the plastic wall of the rink.  Things started out okay, but the salchows tweaked my back, which slowed me down for the practice session and the lesson.  The videos are here:

1/21/17 Waltz Jump in Practice

1/21/17 Salchow in Practice

1/21/17 One Foot Spin in Practice

The group lesson was good – the rink rotates instructors for the adult group, so today was the third instructor I’ve been able to work with.  All have been very good, and I really enjoy the variety.  Since there were only two of us in our group, we were able to pick what we worked on.

We started with spins, a scratch spin to be specific.  I was not familiar with the name, but when the instructor demonstrated it, it was essentially the spin I’ve been trying to do.  The trick is to bend your knees and also hold on to the leading edge going into the spin.  This seems to be a common theme in my first three lessons, bending knees and holding edges.  Typical me wanting to rush through the move.  I was impressed at the effect the instruction had on my spin.  I felt much more balanced and centered and it seemed like I went faster after working on this.  I still need to figure out how to cross my foot, but one thing at a time… Here’s the video (these are much better because the instructor took them for me):

1/21/17 Scratch Spin in Lesson

I originally was going to forgo jumping after my back started bothering me, but I decided to try.  I felt fine with the waltz jump, but the salchow still hurt my back.  I asked if there was something else I could do that didn’t involve swinging my leg around so much (assuming this was the problem).  She suggested the toe-loop, which proved to be a lot harder than it looked.  I tried it and we worked on my arms and then my feet.  Of course once I corrected the arms, they got all messed up again when I tried to get the feet right.  I even did some drills from standing so I could focus on crossing the foot before jumping – that was hard!  I got better, but every time I got my feet close to right, my landing was a mess, and I didn’t even know what my arms were doing.  I apparently even did a toe-waltz one of the times (I don’t even know what that is).  Toe-loops are definitely something to practice!  Luckily many of the attempts were on video, so you’ll be able to get a feel for how hard it was for me:

1/21/17 Toe Loop Attempts in Lesson

The final thing we worked on was power three-turns (outside 3s).  These were actually fun, although they wore me out pretty quickly.  I did most of them on the left side and just started working the right side when we ran out of time.  The right side was confusing for some reason.  After the crossover, you immediately go into the next one.  That worked well on the left, but I couldn’t figure out how to do that on the right.  Definitely an opportunity for practice!  Here’s the left side:

1/21/17 Left Power Three in Lesson

Today’s 30-minute lesson went by so quickly!  This is so much fun, I just need to keep working on my fear of falling and learn how to put everything into my jumps.  I am definitely more confident during the lessons than just practicing on my own, but I hope once I get the hang of things, my practice will feel stronger!

Leave a Reply

