Repeat Lesson…. March 30, 2017

Yep, as I expected it, this lesson ended up being a repeat of last week’s lesson. And, as anyone who knows me will completely recognize, I’m not a big fan of being stagnant. I am the kind of person who has to see *some* kind of improvement to feel successful. I can even handle the two steps forward, one step back approach because I’m content to just be moving, and there’s always a reason for setbacks. Being stuck in the same place, however, is not my thing.

I did try something different, however. I bought a notebook…. A notebook? You might ask? How will that help? You’re already blogging every lesson and taking videos to remember where you’ve been (and hopefully what you’ve learned)… What good will writing down information do?

Good question – here’s what I’m thinking.

First of all, my legs need some conditioning, especially going backwards. They’re weaker than I would like them to be and weak legs make skating hard. If I keep writing down my warm-up, maybe I will find something that works for me that I can do every time.

Secondly, and perhaps most importantly, I need to remember the tips I get in my lessons so that I can practice them correctly. The amount I remembered from my previous lesson was so negligible that I had to spend an entire lesson being retaught the same skills. That wasn’t fun. I figure if I write down the tips that I receive, I will be more likely to remember them and implement them into my practice. Nothing is more frustrating than practicing things incorrectly, or doing worse in practice than you did the previous week because you forgot what you did that was right.

Don’t worry, I won’t type my notes word for word…. only the highlights!! 🙂

The most encouraging thing that happened is the coach (who was new to me) and I were talking about the Theatre on Ice team that the rink has and she seemed to think I would be able to try out for the team in August. I’m not sure how their practices will work with my schedule, or even if I have the required skills, but I am so excited that someone thought I may have a chance.

We did forward and backward crossovers, which was nice because I do an okay job on them (still need some pointers, but it’s at least a successful outcome). Aside from that, it was backward inside edges, back outsides three-turns, back inside three-turns…. over and over and over. Practice makes perfect, right? Sigh…. I’m still very inconsistent in everything.

Maybe by studying my notes, Saturday will be a little better…

Leave a Reply

